The Bolcom Project

This first-ever recording of the complete output for violin and piano by one of America’s most sought after and prolific composers, William Bolcom, is the latest project by American Double, Philip Ficsor, violin and Constantine Finehouse, piano. The 2CD set, released September, 2007 on Albany Records, features a number of world premiere recordings, such as Fancy Tales and Pastorale. The works on the album span almost four decades of Bolcom’s career, from his student days in the late fifties to mid-nineties. Also among the premieres is the Suite for Solo Violin, performed by Ficsor and revised by Bolcom especially for this recording project.

Track List

CD 1 64’19
Second Sonata (1978)
1 I. Summer Dreams
2 II. Brutal, fast
3 III. Adagio
4 IV. In memory of Joe Venuti: Allegro comodo; lyrical
Sonatina (1958)*
5 I. Moderato
6 II. Andante
7 III. Allegro
First Sonata (1956/1984)
8 I. Legend
9 II. Nocturne
10 III. Quasi-Variations: Scenes From A Young Life
Third Sonata, “Sonata Stramba” (1992)
11 I. A piacere, drammatico-Allegro con fuoco
12 II. Andante
13 III. Like a Shiver: Presto
14 IV. Moderato, risoluto, all’ arabesca

CD 2 68’21
1 Duo Fantasy (1973)
Pastorale (1962)*
2 I. Allegretto grazioso
3 II. Variations: Moderato, poco cantabile, non espressivo
4 III. Coda: Adagio espressivo
Fancy Tales (1972)*
5 I. The Phantom-Sweetheart
6 II. The Centaurs in Flight
7 III. The Dwarf’s Serenade: Variations
8 IV. The Abandoned Ferryboat
Suite for Solo Violin (1977/2006)*
9 I. Bold, passionate
10 II. Scherzando: Fast
11 III. Valse obsédée
12 IV. Not too slow
13 V. Presto possibile
Graceful Ghost: Concert Variation (1983)
14 Slow March
Fourth Sonata (1994)
15 I. Allegro brillante
16 II. White Night: Slow; Faster, nervous
17 III. Arabesque: Molto moderato
18 IV. Jota: Vivo, risoluto

The Bolcom Project  cover art

You can order The Bolcom Project two-CD set directly from the artist using PayPal for $25 (includes shipping in the continental USA).

You can also find The Bolcom Project at various online retailers, including:
Amazon, Barnes & Noble, CD Universe, and iTunes

"[The Bolcom Project] released by Albany Records in September 2007, this two-CD set is indispensable to any serious collector with an interest in later 20th-century duo repertoire for violin and piano."
— Jerry Dubbins, Fanfare Mazagine (complete review)

Cover art:
Front cover 170kb (PNG)
Front and back 150kb (PNG)

For more information visit the Collaborations page or

Back to Top

Home Music Player Blog
Copyright © 2007-2011 Constantine Finehouse. All rights reserved. Site design & development by twicesquared